Dustin Stoltz is a PhD student at the University of Notre Dame. He studies economic sociology, culture, cognition, networks and organizations. He is originally from Montana.

About Dustin


I am currently a PhD Candidate in the Department of Sociology at the University of Notre Dame and a doctoral affiliate at the Kellogg Institute for International Studies. Most of my interests fall into the subfield of economic sociology, but this almost always includes cultural sociology, organizational studies, network analysis, and cognitive social science.

My projects tend to gravitate toward three broad theoretical epicenters: (1) coordination problems (how people think together, move together, and work together), (2) distribution problems (how people think stuff does, and ought to, move around), and (3) grounding (bringing all theoretical concepts to the level of cognition, embodiment, materiality, and situational action - or, I try not to "reify the macro").

Methodologically, I am fixated on the problem of bringing out the cultural unconscious in talk and text (and completely flippant about the qualitative/quantitative divide). Substantively, a long-term goal of mine is to advance a sociology of elite advising by building on the long tradition in the social sciences of examining political advisors, and adding my own empirical exploration of management consulting.

Previously, I attended Montana State University's sociology program and was an AmeriCorps member in beautiful Bozeman, Montana (where I first caught the passion of mountaineering). I then served in the US Peace Corps in the Republic of Azerbaijan (and exploited the opportunity by climbing all around the Caucasus Mountains). In tandem, through Peace Corps Master's International program, I completed a master's in sociology and community and economic development at Illinois State's Stevenson Center for Community and Economic Development. I rounded off my experience abroad working in the banking industry in Japan and traveling throughout Asia.

Compendiums of My Experience: